-BEFORE THE UTAH PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION-

In the matter of the Request of Utah Power ) DOCKET NO. 05-035-97
and Light for an Exemption from the )
Security Deposit Criteria for SEAN and )

)

SUSAN KELLY REPORT AND ORDER

ISSUED: October 26, 2005

By The Commission:

On October 3, 2005, Utah Power and Light (“Utah Power”) filed a request
pursuant to its Electric Service Regulation No. 9 seeking exemption from the security deposit
criteria contained in Electric Service Schedule No. 300 to permit Utah Power to charge
Respondents Sean and Susan Kelly a security deposit in the amount of $450.00. Utah Power
bases its request on Respondents’ failure to pay for electric service rendered, checks returned for
non-sufficient funds, repeated bankruptcy filings, and analysis of Respondent’s account
indicating a peak billing of approximately $450.00 for two months’ usage.

Utah Power’s Electric Service Schedule No. 300 establishes the amount of a
security deposit that may be charged by Utah Power as the lesser of the customer’s estimated 60-
day peak billing at the premises or $150.00. Electric Service Regulation No. 9, section 1(b),
authorizes Utah Power to apply to the Commission for an exemption permitting Utah Power to
charge an amount larger than that specified in Schedule 300. Utah Power claims the $150.00
deposit cap is not sufficient to provide adequate assurance of payment given the above-noted

circumstances and the approximate 60-day lag between Respondents’ use of service and Utah
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Power’s ability to disconnect service. Respondents have failed to respond to Utah Power’s
request.
Therefore, based upon the foregoing information, and for good cause appearing,
the Administrative Law Judge enters the following proposed
ORDER
NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED, that:

1. Utah Power and Light’s request for exemption from its security deposit criteria to
permit it to charge a security deposit of $450.00 to Respondents SEAN and SUSAN KELLY is
approved.

2. Pursuant to Utah Code Annotated 8§ 63-46b-12 and 54-7-15, agency review or
rehearing of this order may be obtained by filing a request for review or rehearing with the
Commission within 30 days after the issuance of the order. Responses to a request for agency
review or rehearing must be filed within 15 days of the filing of the request for review or
rehearing. If the Commission fails to grant a request for review or rehearing within 20 days after
the filing of a request for review or rehearing, it is deemed denied. Judicial review of the
Commission’s final agency action may be obtained by filing a Petition for Review with the Utah
Supreme Court within 30 days after final agency action. Any Petition for Review must comply
with the requirements of Utah Code Annotated 88 63-46b-14, 63-46b-16 and the Utah Rules of

Appellate Procedure.
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DATED at Salt Lake City, Utah, this 26™ day of October, 2005.

[s/ Steven F. Goodwill
Administrative Law Judge

Approved and Confirmed this 26" day of October, 2005, as the Report and Order

of the Public Service Commission of Utah.

/s/ Ric Campbell, Chairman

/s/ Ted Boyer, Commissioner

/s/ Ron Allen, Commissioner

Attest:

/s/ Julie Orchard
Commission Secretary
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