ARTHUR F. SANDACK (#2854)

Attorney for Petitioner IBEW Local 57

8 East Broadway, Ste 510

Salt Lake City, Utah 84111

Telephone: (801) 532-7858

 

Date Submitted: August 15, 2005



BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

STATE OF UTAH

==================================================================

                                                                               )

In the Matter of the Application of                            )          PETITION FOR

MidAmerican Energy Holdings Company                 )           INTERVENTION

and PacifiCorp dba Utah Power and Light               )           BY IBEW LOCAL 57         

Company for an Order Authorizing Proposed           )

Transaction                                                              )         Docket No. 05-035-54

===================================================================


            Comes now petitioner, by and through counsel, pursuant to §63-46b-9 UCA as amended and Commission's Rules of Practice R746-100-7, and hereby petitions the Commission to permit it to intervene in the above matter and represents as follows:

            1. Petitioner, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, Local 57 is a labor organization representing approximately 1,800 employees of Applicant Pacificorp, in its Utah Power and Light Division. Most of these employees reside in Utah. The employees work in Applicant's power supply and delivery operations and are covered by the terms of collective bargaining agreements between Intervenor and Applicant PacifiCorp.

            2. Intervenor and its represented employees' rights and interests may be substantially affected by this proceeding as it will affect the management, cost and ability of the Utility to safely and competently maintain and deliver electrical service by the efforts of its labor force. Accordingly, it is in the interests of this petitioner and the public that intervention be granted.

            3. Petitioner has yet to determine what its position will be to the Application and evidence to be submitted in support thereof. However, Petitioner should be permitted to intervene as its interests may appear during the proceeding.

            4. The interests of justice and the orderly and prompt conduct of these proceedings will not be delayed, or materially impaired or prejudiced by permitting intervention.

            5. Petitioner's interests are not adequately represented by any party to the proceeding.

            6. Notices and pleading should be sent to:

            ARTHUR F. SANDACK, Esq

            8 East Broadway, Ste 510

            Salt Lake City, Utah 84111


            Electronic filings, notices and orders should be sent by email to asandack@itower.net

            Facsimile copies 801-363-1715



WHEREFORE PETITIONER prays that the Commission permits it to intervene in the above proceedings as its interests appear and grant it such relief as deemed justified by the Commission.

Dated this ___ day of ______________________, 2005.

 

                                                                                                _________________________

                                                                                                Arthur F. Sandack





MAILING CERTIFICATE


I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Petition For Intervention by IBEW Local 57 was e-mailed, on the 15th day of August, 2005 by Arthur Sandack to:

 


Edward A. Hunter

Jennifer H. Martin

Stoel Rives LLP

201 South Main, Suite 1100

Salt Lake City, UT 84111-4904

eahunter@stoel.com

jhmaritn@stoel.com


Douglas L. Anderson

General Counsel

Mid-American Energy Holdings Company

302 S. 36th Street, Suite 400

Omaha, Nebraska 68131

danderson@midamerican.com


Mark C. Moench

Senior V. P Law

Mid-American Energy Holdings Company

201 South Main, Suite 2300

Salt Lake City, UT 84111-4904

mcmoench@midamerican.com

 

Andrea L. Kelly

PacifiCorp

825 NE Multnomah, Suite 956

Portland, Oregon 97232

andrea.kelly@pacificorp.com


PacifiCorp

Data Request Response Center

825 NE Multnomah, Suite 800

Portland, OR 97232

Datarequest@pacificorp.com


Michael Ginsberg

Trischa Schmid

Asst. Attorney General

500 Heber M. Wells Building

160 East 300 South

Salt Lake City, UT 84111

mginsberg@utah.gov

tschmid@utah.gov





Reed Warnick

Paul Proctor

Asst. Attorney General

160 East 300 South, 5th Floor

Salt Lake City, UT 84111

rwarnick@utah.gov

pproctor@utah.gov


Michael L. Kurtz

BOEHM, KURTZ & LOWRY

36 East Seventh St. Suite 2110

Cincinnati, OH 45202

mkurtz@BKLlawfirm.com


Gary Dodge

HATCH JAMES & DODGE

10 West Broadway, Suite 400

Salt Lake City, UT 84101

gdodge@hjdlaw.com


Major Craig Paulson

AFLSA/ULT

Utility Litigation Team

139 Barnes Drive, Suite 1

Tyndall AFB, FL 32403

craig.paulson@tyndall.af.mil


Peter J. Mattheis

Brickfield Burcette Ritts & Stone

800 West Tower

1025 Thomas Jefferson Street, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20007

pjm@bbrslwa.com


F. Robert Reeder

Parsons Behle & Latimer

One Utah Center Ste 1800

201 So. Main St

SLC, UT 84111

BobReeder@pblutah.com


Thomas W. Forsgren

2868 Jennie Lane

Holladay, UT 84117

twforsgren@msn.com


Steven R. Randle

Randle Deamer & Lee, PC

139 East South Temple, Suite 330

Salt Lake City, UT 84111

ulaw@xmission.com


Utah Rate Payers Alliance

c/o Betsy Wolf

764 South 200 West

Salt Lake City, UT 84101

bwolf@slcap.org


Sarah Wright

Utah Clean Energy

917 2nd Avenue

Salt Lake City, Utah 84103

swrightutah@earthlink.net


Lee Brown

US Magnesium LLC

238 North 220 West

Salt Lake City, UT 84116

lbrown@usmagnesium.com




_________________________